Fishing Licenses

Minnesota Fishing Licenses (BWCAW)

License Fee
Non-Resident, Annual $46.00
Non-Resident, 7-day $39.00
Non-Resident, 72-hour $33.00
Non-Resident, Youth Ages 16 to 17 $6.00
Non-Resident, Married Couple 14-Day $49.00
Non-Resident, Family $61.00
Resident, Annual $23.00
Resident, Married Couple Annual $36.00
Trout Stamp $11.00

License Requirements

All people 16 years and older need a license unless otherwise noted. Non-residents and residents must have their Social Security Number on file with the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources or provide it at the time of purchase.

Residents

  • To qualify as a resident, a person must maintain a legal residence in Minnesota for at least 60 consecutive days before purchasing a license.
  • Residents 21 or older must provide a current Minnesota Driver’s License or ID card, unless exempt under the Religious Freedom Act.
  • A non-resident under age 21 whose parent is a Minnesota resident is considered a resident
  • All residents age 15 and younger are allowed to take their own limit of fish without purchasing a license.

Non-Residents

  • All non-resident age 16 and older are required to have an appropriate fishing license while angling. Non-residents under age 16 do not need a license if the parent or guardian is license.
  • Children of an adult who has a Minnesota “Non-Resident Family” license may possess their own limit of fish. However, if the adult has an individual license, the child’s fish are included in the adult’s limit.
  • Non-residents under age 16 may purchase a license and possess their own limit of fish.

Youth Groups

Non-profit groups may apply for free Minnesota fishing permits for all youth under age of 16 by writing to: DNR Regional Enforcement Officer, 1201 E Hwy 2, Grand Rapids, MN 55744 or call them at (218) 328-8802.  They can fax or email the applications to you. Groups wishing these free fishing permits must apply for them as early as possible.

Where to Buy a License

  • In person at Cliff Wold’s or any ELS Agent
  • Online at Minnesota DNR

For Additional Information, you may refer to: Minnesota Department of Natural Resources

Ontario Fishing Licenses (Quetico Park)

License
Fee  
Non-Resident Outdoors Card $9.68
Non-Resident Annual $83.27
Non-Resident Annual, Conservation $51.65
Non-Resident 8-day $53.54
Non-Resident 8-day, Conservation $30.53
Non-Resident Organized Camp $5.98

License Requirements

A valid license to fish in Ontario consists of an Outdoors Card PLUS Fishing License tag.

Non-Residents

  • Non-Canadian residents 18 years of age and over must purchase a fishing license.
  • Non-Canadian residents under age 18 may fish without a license if accompanied by an adult who has a valid fishing license. Any fish kept are part of the catch and possession limit of the person who holds the license.
  • Non-Canadian residents under age 18 may purchase a license to have their own limits.

Youth Groups

Non-Canadian resident groups of children (at least five people under the age of 18 years) are eligible for a “Non-Resident Organized Camp” license.  Outdoors Card not required.

Where to Buy a License

Fishing Regulations

  • Only barbless hooks are permitted in the Quetico Park. Barbed hooks may be in a tackle box but cannot be on the fishing line. Barbed hooks must be pinched before being attached to a fishing line.
  • Only artificial bait may be used. No live or dead organic bait, including but not limited to leeches, worms, and salted minnows.
  • Lead-free tackle is encouraged.

For Additional Information, you may refer to: Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources